[SPC2] Possession power confusion

Information and comments on all Pinnacle original Savage Settings plus our genre-based Companions. Please note the product with an abbreviation in the Subject line (ex. [FC] for Fantasy Companion, [NE] for Necessary Evil, and so on). Note: Deadlands has its own forum below as do licensed settings.

Moderators: PEG Jodi, The Moderators

Message
Author
ioticus
Novice
Posts: 27
Joined: Fri Apr 24, 2009 6:23 pm

[SPC2] Possession power confusion

#1 Postby ioticus » Sun Jan 29, 2017 6:33 am

The description of the Possession power has me baffled. First it says the possessor has to concentrate in order to maintain possession and is at -1 on all other actions. Then it says he is helpless. But how can he even take actions if he is helpless? Or does this mean the actions of the one being possessed are at -1? Finally, it says that the possessor must pass an opposed Spirit roll if shaken or wounded, but then says he automatically leaves the body if wounded! So why would he need to pass the check if leaving is automatic if wounded?

ValhallaGH
Legendary
Posts: 8293
Joined: Sun Apr 25, 2010 9:15 pm

Re: [SPC2] Possession power confusion

#2 Postby ValhallaGH » Sun Jan 29, 2017 9:30 am

Helpless is not Incapacitated.
Helpless means his Parry is 2, and he is subject to a Finishing Move.
Incapacitated means the character cannot take actions of any kind, and is Helpless.

If the Possessor is wearing your body and gets Shaken or Wounded (i.e. your body gets Shaken or Wounded), you get another opposed Spirit roll to get free.
If the Possessor's original body is Wounded then he automatically leaves your body.

Good?
"Got a problem? I've got the solution: Rocket Launcher."
"Not against a Servitor."
"... We're all gonna die."

ioticus
Novice
Posts: 27
Joined: Fri Apr 24, 2009 6:23 pm

Re: [SPC2] Possession power confusion

#3 Postby ioticus » Mon Jan 30, 2017 12:17 am

Okay, thanks, but I can't find the effects of being helpless (specifically the parry = 2) anywhere in the rulebook.

ValhallaGH
Legendary
Posts: 8293
Joined: Sun Apr 25, 2010 9:15 pm

Re: [SPC2] Possession power confusion

#4 Postby ValhallaGH » Mon Jan 30, 2017 8:11 am

That's because Helpless isn't a formal game term. It's a general linguistic term. (Helpless)
But it is well established that any character unable to move, and thus unable to use their Fighting skill, is reduced to the parry of an inanimate object.
Which is irrelevant if a Finishing Move is applied.
"Got a problem? I've got the solution: Rocket Launcher."
"Not against a Servitor."
"... We're all gonna die."

User avatar
Clint
Site Admin
Posts: 20361
Joined: Tue May 13, 2003 2:28 pm

Re: [SPC2] Possession power confusion

#5 Postby Clint » Thu Feb 02, 2017 1:12 pm

ioticus wrote:The description of the Possession power has me baffled. First it says the possessor has to concentrate in order to maintain possession and is at -1 on all other actions. Then it says he is helpless. But how can he even take actions if he is helpless? Or does this mean the actions of the one being possessed are at -1?


Bingo! the possession character controls the actions of their target, but suffers a -1 to those actions due to the concentration required.

ioticus wrote:Finally, it says that the possessor must pass an opposed Spirit roll if shaken or wounded, but then says he automatically leaves the body if wounded! So why would he need to pass the check if leaving is automatic if wounded?


The Spirit roll is if the controlled body is Shaken or Wounded. It's automatic if "the possessor's body" is Wounded (can't be Shaken since it's already completely helpless which is worse than Shaken).

Hope that helps!
Clint Black
Savage Worlds Core Rules Brand Manager

www.peginc.com

Myrmicus
Novice
Posts: 99
Joined: Mon Sep 19, 2016 2:41 am

Re: [SPC2] Possession power confusion

#6 Postby Myrmicus » Fri Feb 03, 2017 12:27 am

Clint wrote:The Spirit roll is if the controlled body is Shaken or Wounded. It's automatic if "the possessor's body" is Wounded (can't be Shaken since it's already completely helpless which is worse than Shaken).


But is shaken still useful for the sake of the "two shaken result in a wound" ?

User avatar
Clint
Site Admin
Posts: 20361
Joined: Tue May 13, 2003 2:28 pm

Re: [SPC2] Possession power confusion

#7 Postby Clint » Fri Feb 03, 2017 2:04 pm

Myrmicus wrote:
Clint wrote:The Spirit roll is if the controlled body is Shaken or Wounded. It's automatic if "the possessor's body" is Wounded (can't be Shaken since it's already completely helpless which is worse than Shaken).


But is shaken still useful for the sake of the "two shaken result in a wound" ?


If the GM wants to rule it that way. Being "helpless" the body is already subject to a Finishing Move, meaning in the SPC The Drop for +4/+4, and pretty much has the Parry of an inanimate object (2), so not sure a Shaken only result on damage is really going to be too common in that situation.
Clint Black

Savage Worlds Core Rules Brand Manager



www.peginc.com


Return to “SW Pinnacle Original Settings & Companions”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 5 guests