Please help me balance my idea for super powers in HB setting!

Please use carefully and respect the copyrights of the works you convert by placing the appropriate information on your documents.

Moderators: PEG Jodi, The Moderators

AncientManBeast
Novice

Please help me balance my idea for super powers in HB setting!

#1 Postby AncientManBeast » Sun Feb 14, 2016 9:55 pm

Hi,
So I'm very new to savage worlds and in Dm'ing is general, but I'm very inspired from this awesome system to create my own setting. I've never played a Supers rpg before but I picked up the Super Power companion recently and it got me very excited to have it in my setting [love rolling characters with it]. I'm just looking for ways to balance it with other players who do not choose to have the super power background and in general in the world it is very rare for people to have said powers [a lot of npcs won't have them]. I would use the rising star rules with either Pulp or Street, I'm leaning toward Pulp as Street feels like it would be too much.

Technology level-wise, its a near future PA-ish world , so conventional guns, body armor vehicles are somewhat common with more advance weapons being rare. I want to give the 'normals' bonuses and hinder the supers in some way. Also lore wise, i'm thinking I would require the supers to take the Mania, Phobia, Delusional or some sort of custom Compulsion hindrance as an extra [i.e. no points] with a chance to buy them off later. No super sorcery power or invent power allowed and no device modifier. Here are some of my ideas;

1. Introduce skill specialization edges. The normals get a free one at creation or can take at novice while the supers could only take at higher rank [or not at all].

2. The super power background would cost 2 edges to purchase.

3. The supers start with less skill points [maybe as part of the extra hindrance], Maybe ban the Super skill power?