Vampires and Other Iconic Rifts Monsters

Information and comments on all Pinnacle licensed Savage Settings. Please note the product with an abbreviation in the Subject line (ex. [SR] for Savage Rifts®, [6G] for The Sixth Gun, [SK] for Solomon Kane, and so on). Note: Licensee settings by 3rd parties are below.

Moderators: PEG Jodi, The Moderators

Wolverine-X
Novice

Vampires and Other Iconic Rifts Monsters

#1 Postby Wolverine-X » Mon Apr 24, 2017 9:11 am

I'm new to the Rifts setting, so I'm still wrapping my head around the various monstrous threats of Rifts Earth. I've talked with a few friends regarding the setting and general threats of the world (in a narrative sense, not mechanically)...so I have the sense that the monstrous threats are pretty imposing. That being said I was told that vampires and gargoyles are significant threats in the world.

Given that backdrop, after looking over the stats for both vampires and gargoyles I was curious as to whether those monsters do mega damage or standard damage. Their stats don't indicate that they do standard damage, but thinking back on the narrative context I was given about these monsters I figured they would be a bigger threat (granted they are still pretty bad). My thoughts are motivated by my current party makeup, which has a Glitterboy and Burster who currently sport MDC armor. If I've read the stats for both of these monsters correctly if the gargoyle has access to his weapons he could potentially pose a threat to the GB and B, but otherwise has no way of harming either. And the wild vampire doesn't have anyway of harming either since none of its abilities do mega damage.

Does this track with the way these creatures function in Rifts? Or should the gargoyles and wild vampires strength do mega damage?

Curious to learn more about these monsters and others, because I think this setting is phenomenal and its implementation in Savage Worlds is the best RPG experience I've had in a LONG time.

Thanks!

Brickulos